Significance of the 7 chakras

Significance of the 7 chakras

The seven chakras are the energy forces that govern our entire state of being. Read this feature to find out what each chakra signifies

chakra meditation

There are seven chakras

A pregnant woman is a bundle of hormones gone berserk. So staying positive and controlling her thoughts usually looks like a task she doesn’t want to take on. As we know, the human body is not merely limited to its physical or emotional presence. It is a temple that houses several energy powerhouses or chakras, which govern our psychological properties.

When one feels low in energy, or feels negative, few chakras are said to be closed. Ideally, all the chakras need to be moving in tandem to help the body attain the highest level of spirituality, peace and control. These can be ‘opened’ through yogic practices and Chakra meditation.

The seven chakras

Muladhara chakra

The first chakra is the Muladhara. It is the chakra of stability and it is located at the perineum. It connects to the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. It addresses security and basic needs. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.

Sadishtana chakra

The Sadhisthana is the second chakra and is our creativity centre. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for creative expression and feelings of well-being and sexuality.

Manipura chakra

The Manipura is the third chakra located in the area from the navel to the breastbone. It is associated with power, self-worth and confidence.

Anahata chakra

The fourth chakra is the Anahata. This chakra is also known as the connecting chakra between mind, body and spirit. This heart chakra is our source of love and connection.

Vishuddha chakra 

The Vishuddha Chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal communication and the ability to speak the truth.

Ajna chakra 

The sixth chakra, that is the Ajna is located between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the ‘third eye’ chakra. It is our area of intuition or the sixth sense, imagination, and wisdom.

Sahaswara chakra 

The seventh chakra is the Sahaswara chakra. It is also known as the ‘thousand petal lotus’ chakra and is located at the crown of the head. This the ultimate chakra of spirituality, which connects one to the divine.

References: Chakras

To know how to practice chakra meditation when you’re pregnant, read our article on Chakra meditation for the mum to be.

If you have any insights, questions or comments regarding the story, please share them in our Comment box below.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Google+ to stay up-to-date on the latest from!

Written by

Preeti Athri

app info
get app banner